About Us

All meetings are held on the ground floor of the 1885 Courthouse
100 W. Lawrence - Charlotte, MI 48813 at 7:00 pm
Questions please conact Julie Kimmer at 517.543.6999

Read our 2009 Annual Report

The Commissioners

Randal Tooker   Chairman
Randy is a life-long resident of Eaton County, attended country school to the 8th grade and graduated from Charlotte High School. After attending Lansing Community College, he served in the U.S. Army with the 101st Airborne Division in Vietnam as a combat engineer. Randy has worked for the Lansing Schools and the Eaton Intermediate School District, and is a highly certified electrician. Randy is a member of many organizations, including veterans' groups, historical organizations around mid-Michigan, and other archaeological and genealogical societies. His interests include local history, as well as the "Old Northwest" with special emphasis on the fur trade, Indian inhabitants and the logging era.

Larry Ballard   Treasurer
Larry Ballard has been a resident of Eaton County his entire life. His dedication to the preservation of county history has led him to serve on the boards of the Eaton County Historical Society and Courthouse Square Association and as an Eaton County Historical Commissioner for many years. On these boards he has filled the capacity of Chairman, Vice- Chairman and Treasurer. His interests include genealogical research, collecting Eaton County history and preservation of the county’s many buildings and written materials.

Darrell Baker   Appointee from Eaton County Commission

Jan Sedore   Member

Jan Sedore has been a resident of Eaton County since 1957 moving to Sunfield from Lansing and graduated from Sunfield High School. Jan and her husband Leslie served as Foster Parents for mentally and physically challenged young children and adults for over 30 years, retiring in 1994. Jan’s love of family and local history has always been strong and she takes every opportunity to research in dusty attics, musty basements of old court houses and beautiful cemeteries.  She is presently the Coordinator of three MIGenWeb counties (Eaton, Barry, & Grand Traverse) and also two MNGenWeb counties in Minnesota (Otter Tail & Douglas). Jan is also currently the President of the Sunfield Historical Society and curator of the Welch Historical Museum located at 161 Main Street, Sunfield. Her love of local history and the knowledge that history needs to be preserved has led her to encourage the Sunfield Historical Society to publish many books on local subjects in the past and she is currently working on several to be published soon.

Joe Ann Nehmer   Member
Joe Ann Nehmer, currently the Vermontville Township Treasurer has had a long standing interest in history. From genealogy research to her memberships in the Greater Federation of Women’s Club-Vermontville and the Vermontville Historical Society she is active in promoting and preserving the history of Eaton County. Joe Ann joined the Historical Commission in 2007 replacing Tom Shawver upon his retirement. She was reappointed in January 2008 for a three year term.

Thomas Raymond   Member
Tom is a resident of Eaton Rapids and employed as a Transportation Planner for the Michigan Department of Transportation. He graduated from Central Michigan University with a degree in Community Development. Tom previously spent over 20 years with state and private firms surveying land and loved the historical research required in boundary surveys. He served this commission in the mid-1990’s and is back for his second term.

Richard Rybicki   Member
Richard Rybicki has been a resident of Eaton Rapids since 1987 moving here from Detroit.  He is employed by the State of Michigan working for the Michigan Public Safety Communications System, (MPSCS). His love of history reflects in his volunteer work for the Associated Public Safety Communications Officials (APCO) as a member of the Historical Committee.  Along with being the Michigan Chapter historian, he was appointed the National Committee Chair in 2007.   He was instrumental in having a Michigan historical marker erected to honor 80 years of Detroit Police dispatch.

Deb Malewski Member

Deb Malewski has lived in Eaton Rapids since 1982. She holds a bachelors degree in Criminal Justice from MSU.  She is self-employed as a decorative artist/designer, and teaches her painting techniquesinternationally. She has organized and participated in projects involving art with the White House, the Smithsonian's Renwick Gallery, and the Library of Congress. She serves as chairperson of the Eaton Rapids Planning Commission and is on the Board for the Eaton Rapids Area Historical Society, where she manages the 1870 Wright School house and helped develop a historical cemetery tour. She also serves as Vice President of the Michigan Historical Museum's Docent Guild, and is actively involved with the staff there in developing and conducting educational programs for visitors.

Pat Tirrell  Member

Pat Tirrell married into the Tirrell Centennial Farm family in 1978 and immediately moved into the family's vacant brick home built in 1873. She and her husband, Duane, restored and updated the home only enough to raise a modern family, but not enough to change the character and charm of this historic home. A respect for history is a way of life for Pat and she has experimented with and practiced colonial skills such as spinning and weaving for many years. She is dedicated to educating young people about history. Pat is a member of Courthouse Square Association, has demonstrated at the Frontier Days encampment, Ella Sharp Park, and has been a 4-H leader for many years.

Go to top