Heritage Award

Eaton County Heritage Award

January 23, 2013                           

Contact: Julie Kimmer  517-543-6999


Commission Seeks Nominees

For County History Awards

The Eaton County Historical Commission is looking for individuals, groups and organizations who have made worthwhile contributions to the county’s historical heritage.

Up to three of them will receive the commission’s Heritage Award, given annually by the commission for significant work in the preservation, restoration or public awareness of the county’s rich historical heritage.

Representatives of the commission and county historical organizations select winners of the award, which are typically made during the Heritage Conference co-hosted by the Eaton County Historical Commission each fall.

Nomination forms may be obtained from the Courthouse Square Association at the 1885 Eaton County Courthouse in downtown Charlotte, (Phone 517-543-6999) or at The deadline for nominations is April 15.


Click here to obtain the Heritage Award Form



The Mission of the Eaton County Historical Commission is to foster public awareness of the county’s rich and varied historical heritage, to encourage organizations and individuals who work to restore and preserve its historic sites, structures and artifacts and to document and display them for the education and enjoyment of all its citizens.


Who makes the selection? -- The commission makes the selection based on the recommendation of a five-member committee. The committee is made up of three commission members and one representative each from two organizations in the county whose main purpose relates to our historical heritage.

How many awards are given? -- As many as three awards may be made in any one year. They are attractively framed metal certificates presented each May at a ceremony during or near Michigan Week.

How is an entry submitted? -- Nomination forms are available throughout the year in the offices of the Courthouse Square Association in the 1885 county courthouse in downtown Charlotte.





Paul Dave Arnold - Lansing

Forest Allen Gardner - Vermontville


Bernard Geyer - Bellevue

Potterville Public Library - Potterville


Sherry Copenhaver - ECGS

Roger Millbrook - Grand Ledge


Jim Zemke-Vermontville

Sunfield Historical Society


Joyce L. Miller-Bellevue

Eaton Rapids Area Historical Society

John Hall-Delta Township

Tom Shawver-Lansing


Wendel Peabody-Sunfield

Betty & Harlan McDowell-Grand Ledge

Tom Shawver-Lansing

John Hall-Dimondale


Neil & Helen Holihan-Grand Ledge

Bismark Community Boosters-Bismark


Cathie Falk-Charlotte

Marilyn Smith-Grand Ledge


Olivet College-Olivet

Marian Trombley-Watson Country School


Lorabeth Fitzgerald-Grand Ledge

Jean Kline-Eaton Rapids


Shirley Hodges-Charlotte

Maple Syrup Festival-Vermontville


James Woodruff-Delta Township

Tent #30-Sunfield

(Daughters of Union Veterans of Civil War)


Courthouse Square Association-Charlotte

Gladys Hummel-Susan Hinckley-Kalamo Twp.


Museum of Grand Ledge-Grand Ledge

Jack Rathburn-Vermontville


Thelma Caruss-Dimondale

Leila Klaiss-Charlotte


Curtenius Guard Camp #17-Sunfield

Suzanne Schramski-Grand Ledge

Vermontville Historical Society


Grand Ledge Opera House-Grand Ledge

Gaylord Edgerly-Charlotte


Elizabeth Rogers Kellogg-Dimondale

Grand Ledge Historical Society

Vermontville Historical Society










Go to top