Overall the Eaton County Sheriff’s Deputies responded to 758 calls for service/events. Our higher call volumes occurred in the following areas: Traffic Stops-96, Suspicious Subject/Situation/Vehicle-47, Traffic Violations-43, Assist Citizen/Motorist Assists-43, Alarms-35, Check Well Beings-25, Property Damage Crashes-25, Shoplifting Complaints-22, Larcenies-21, Traffic Hazards-19, Domestic Disputes-16, Civil Complaints-14, Disorderly Person or Subject-14, Threats-13, Car/Deer Accidents-10, Property Damage Hit and Run-7.
Speeding in Residential Areas –
Residents in Michigan are taught basically how to drive two ways - in winter conditions and summer conditions. In summer conditions many of us get complacent in our driving habits when weather is not so much a factor and we know we don’t need as much time to reach our destinations in the summer.
Because of this, speeding in residential areas is reported more frequently by Eaton County residents during the summer months. Please be aware of residential speed limits. This is so important with children out playing, joggers, bicyclists, kids on skateboards, people backing out of their driveway, etc. Anything can happen at any time when we least expect it, and the results can be tragic.
Where no speed limit is posted, the speed limit on paved or gravel residential streets and streets in business districts is 25 mph in Michigan. Here are the fines and points assessed for regular speeding violations in Eaton County:
1-10 over limit = $125 and 2 points, 11-15 over limit = $145 and 3 points, 16-20 over limit = $165 and 4 points, 21-25 over limit = $185 and 4 points, 26-30 over limit = $200 and 4 points; 31-35 over limit = $220 and 4 points, 36 or more over limit = $240 and 4 points
It’s important to remember - Once you’re convicted of a moving violation, those points will remain on your driving record for 2 years from the date of the conviction. Fortunately, points from certain Michigan moving violations can be removed from your record by completing a basic driver improvement course. Michigan drivers are allowed to take this course once in their lifetime;
If you start accumulating traffic ticket after traffic ticket, and the associated points are added to your driving record, your Michigan auto insurance rates are sure to go up. In extreme cases, an insurance provider might drop you from their coverage if they see you as a high risk to insure. Auto insurance is a legal requirement in Michigan, so keeping points off your driving record is a good idea; and
Your driving privileges can be restricted, suspended, or revoked by the Michigan Secretary of State. There are two ways to lose your driving privileges in Michigan: by accumulating too many traffic ticket points, or by committing a serious crime.
Please for the safety of neighbors, children, and yourself, familiarize yourself and obey the basic speed limits and expect the unexpected.
Yours in Public Safety,
Sheriff Tom Reich